Praise: A Short Story

rain blog header

How are you all?

Well, today I decided to share a short story with you. But I couldn’t decide which one because I have written a lot of short stories in my life. So earlier today, I spent ages going through my old files and agonising over which one to choose and I happened to come across a very old story of mine, which I hadn’t so much as thought about in the last few years. I gave it a read through and found that I actually liked it quite a lot.

So, for your enjoyment, I present Praise: A Short Story.

(P.S. This short story came from a prompt I created for a friend of mine, the prompt being the first sentence, which is in Italics and it was inspired by the Casting Crowns song Praise you in This Storm.)

Praise

The wind blew right through the screen door and a phone flashed with new messages, and a hot cup steamed beside it, the storm clouds drew closer, threatening rain.

I sighed and stared at the phone with its new message icon flashing. You’d think it would have stopped. You’d think God would have reached down by now, you’d think he would have wiped my tears from my cheeks; you’d think the rain would have stopped pouring. But it hadn’t.

The drum of real raindrops woke me from my reflections, I dropped to my knees by the screen door, staring out at the sudden pounding downpour and I whispered a prayer. “Amen.”

I opened the door and stepped out into the rain, merely on a crazy impulse. I felt the cold sheets soak me instantly and a drop run down the bridge of my nose. I almost laughed.

I sat down, right there and listened to the thunder as it rolled over the hills in front of my house. Lord, where are you? I can’t carry on! I pleaded, whether or not aloud I’m not sure. I cupped my hands and watched as a small puddle of rainwater formed in them, before trickling away through the gaps in my fingers.

Another clap of thunder echoed in my valley as I stood there, blind and unsure of what to do, salt water melding with fresh on my cheeks. Then I heard it. Afterwards I was never sure whether it was real or whether I imagined it or both. But I heard it and it helped me, “I am with you.” Through the rain, through the thunder, through the storm. “I am with you.”

I lifted my face to the angry black storm clouds, rain pelting my face. A burst of laughter suddenly escaped from my throat. I raised my hands and found myself laughing in the middle of a storm. I did a little dance around my backyard and then stared at the hills that blossomed  just over from my place. It reminded me of a Bible verse I’d learnt as a child in Sunday school. I lift my eyes to the hills, from where comes my help? My help comes from the Lord.

I will praise the Lord who gives and takes away.

I threw my head back again, “I will praise you in this Storm!” I shouted.

There we go, what did you think? Did you enjoy it? Let me know in the comments, :D. I hope my writing has improved since this piece years ago, however it will always hold a special place in my heart. 

 

Leave a Reply

