Beautiful People–July

 

Beautiful People Blog Button - Option 2

Hey there!

First of all, I must apologise for my lack of blogging this week, life’s just been crazy between NaNo and all that, I’m sure you understand. Anyway, I’m here to do a random Tuesday post. It’s time for Cait and Sky’s Beautiful People Meme! This month things are a bit different as the questions are aimed at the writer not the characters. This should be fun!

How do you decide which project to work on?

I don’t really decide, it just kind of happens. It seriously does. I’ll finish one novel or writing project and then the next one is there for me to begin right away. I just start writing it!

 

How long does it usually take you to finish a project?

It depends on the length. I wrote a 20,000-word novella in less than two weeks, but a full-length novel tends to take about six weeks to two months. The longest I’ve spent on a first draft was about three months. To completely write and edit a novel several times takes me too long to count.

 

Do you have any routines to put you in the writing mood?

Not really, I’m very much an opportunist. If I have five minutes I scribble down a paragraph. I write everywhere and anywhere, between customers if I’m volunteering at a shop, at lunch time, between science and math. Wherever. If I happen to decide a specific time to sit down at the computer and type, I try to do some of my dance stretches first (But who am I kidding, when does that ever happen?)

 

What time of day do you write best?

As I said earlier, I really can write any time anywhere, but I like writing late at night, when my copious number of siblings have gone to bed and it’s easier to concentrate.

 

Are there any authors you think you have a similar style to?

Not really, I don’t think. I like the style that John Flanagan writes in, but I’ve never been able to convincingly write in omniscient third person. I just can’t do it. I probably have a similar writing style to Marissa Meyer, but I find her writing very abrupt, maybe that’s just me. I don’t really like saying I write like such and such, because it’s ultimately my own voice.

 

Why did you start writing and why do you keep writing?

Thinking about this very philosophically, I probably started writing because I’m a very introverted person and used to be very shy as well. I wasn’t aware of it at the time, but writing started as a way for me to say things that I couldn’t or wouldn’t say out loud. I keep writing because of the same reason, but also because it’s a God given gift and I can use it to His glory, and that’s what I strive to do.

 

What’s the hardest thing you’ve written?

I’ve written a lot of hard things, but I think one of the most emotional scenes I ever wrote was at the end of my novels that took place inside a cathedral with my hero, villain and bunch of police officers. It didn’t make me cry, because my own writing rarely makes me cry, but it was heart wrenching to write.

 

Is there a project you want to tackle one day, but you don’t feel ready yet?

There’s a lot. One of them would be an epic fantasy book I’ve been planning for several months. I love the story idea, but I just don’t feel its right to begin yet.

 

What writing goals did you make for 2017 and how are they going?

I made five goals for 2017

  1. Write four new novels [so far, I’ve written one, but shush!]
  2. Write five new short stories [I’ve written four and I’m finishing up on my fifth, so whoo!!!]
  3. Read a hundred books [I think I’ve read sixtyish, I’d have to check my log for the exact number]
  4. Enter four competitions [I’ve entered one and by the time you read this, I’ve probably entered my second one (depending on when you’re reading this, of course)]
  5. Edit two novels [currently working on my first novel to edit for Camp NaNo]

Describe your writing process in three word or a gif.

I wrote that?

[Author’s Note: To clarify, that is either a “I wrote that?” *cue impressed face* or “I wrote that?” *cue horrified face and running to the overworked shredder*.]

What do you think? How are your goals for 2017 going? What three words describe your process? What time of day do you write best?

6 thoughts on “Beautiful People–July

    • Thank you! I’m quite pleased with how well I’ve done so far. I think it comes from having a lot of siblings, you just learn to adapt and grab five minute’s peace if it’s on offer!
      And I too! We are a rare bunch and must band together, 😛

      Like

  1. “I wrote THAT?” Ha, ha! Those are perfect words to sum up a writer. Perfect.
    I like what you said about your style being your own voice. It’s so true. Part of me is warring between finding my own voice and completely mimicking Charles Dickens, so yeah.
    Your goals for 2017 sound exceedingly ambitious! I am impressed by what you have done so far! Good luck with the rest of it!

    Like

    • On a random perusal of my blog, I found this comment, which I’ve horrifyingly left unanswered! I apologise for the delay in replying, 😀
      And thank you very much, I don’t think I’ve progressed very much on my goals since I wrote this :D. Oh well! Thank you for commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

