5 Technical Errors Writers Make In Fight Scenes

My exciting news for the day is that I’ve had my first article published on Kingdom Pen! This has been a dream of mine for years and I’m so excited to share it with you.

5 Technical Errors Writers Make in Fight Scenes

We’ve all been there. We’re immersed in a fantastic action sequence, our hearts pounding with adrenaline. We fear for our favorite characters’ lives and then—

Something happens. We notice the author mentioning something we know is inaccurate. The description of a wound, or something about the anatomy of a sword. The result is that we are jolted out of the trance we’ve been in and the fight scene suddenly doesn’t seem so appealing. 

No reader wants to experience this. The author appears slack for not doing their research and the reader feels betrayed. But how do we as aspiring authors make sure we keep errors and inaccuracies out of our writing? And why does it matter?

It matters because as Christian authors we have promised to uphold a standard. We’ve dedicated our writing to God and we have a duty to do the best we can in everything. Of course, nothing is going to be 100% error-free, as we are fallible humans, but taking the time to research and edit shows we are passionate about our craft. 

No one expects you to be a black belt in five different martial arts before you write fight scenes. However, there are several common errors writers make in their fight scenes, and today we’ll be looking at five of them.

So grab your favorite search engine, a handbook of weaponry, and a mug of hot chocolate, and let’s get started.

Read the rest here

12 thoughts on “5 Technical Errors Writers Make In Fight Scenes

  1. Loved the article. I thought it was going to be a pretty general piece, but the details really had me reading from start to end, which is rare for blog posts (I usually skim). Thanks for this! It’s obvious that you’ve put a lot of work into it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations! I’m okay with some inaccuracies in fight scenes, but the ThEsE cHiNeSe ChArAcHtErS fOuGhT wItH a KaTaNa gets me every time. What do you have against jian and research, author??
    Anyway, your article was really helpful!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I definitely enjoyed it! It definitely made me think about how I want to write my fight scenes going forward, particularly since that’s not my strength! 😂 Thanks so much for taking the time to write it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment