All About You Round The Blogosphere Tag

So about a month ago, Gracie over at Grace A. Johnson tagged me for this tag, and I love doing tags, so I thought why not do it today? Also, I haven’t introduced myself to all the new followers I’ve gained for some inexplicable reason, so this might be a nice little “get to know me” post.

Let’s get into it!

What is your favourite book/series and why?

I am nauseatingly enthusiastic about my favourite books, so I’m sure if you’ve been around this blog for more than 3.8 seconds you know the answer. My three favourite books in the whole world are (not in order), The Lord of the Rings, The Eagle of the Ninth, and A Tale of Two Cities. There are some runners up, such as The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue, Frankenstein, The Secret Garden, The Hunger Games, The Scorpio Races, etc. But the three above mentioned are my favourites by far.

Um, why? I don’t really know, other than the obvious answer that they’re well-written, entertaining, beautiful, and have relatable characters. I think that those three have just struck a chord in my heart that other books haven’t. I could talk about them forever, but this tag is going to be long as it is, so let’s move onto the next question.

Who is your favourite author?

Probably one of the authors of the books above, Tolkien, Dickens or Rosemary Sutcliff. If I had to choose based on talent, I think it would definitely be Tolkien. His works are just so, so good. Everything about his stories are just amazing. Dickens is also very good for the same reason, plus I also admire his passion for social justice. Personally though, I love Rosemary Sutcliff. She was an amazing woman, who managed to write hundreds of books even with severe rheumatoid arthritis.

What is your favourite food?

I will eat almost anything. My favourite food is rice, hands down, because it’s simply the best food there is. I also love chocolate, coconut ice cream, cheese (lactose intolerance be damned), sour lollies, oranges, chicken, eggs and mushrooms. Quite a lot of food.

What gives you inspiration for your books?

So much stuff, I’m very lucky to have a wild imagination that is sparked by almost everything. However, I think usually travelling, reading nonfiction books, watching movies, listening to music and browsing Pinterest are my usual inspirations.

If you could live anywhere, where would it be?

I love Australia, and I wouldn’t want to live anywhere else longterm. But if I was to live anywhere, I would want to live in Scotland or Wales. My grandparents are Scottish and I still have a lot of extended family in the UK, and I just want to visit so bad (COVID be gone!) But yeah, I think Scotland is where I would like to live, not to mention its the setting for several of my books so it would be easy researching and that’s always important for a writer.

Are you an introvert or extrovert?

I’m definitely an introvert. I have a small circle of friends, and I’m happy with that. I like staying home, I like having dogs over people. A cup of tea and a book is perfect. I’m a textbook Basic Introvert.

If you had a warning label, what would yours say?

Warning: This product will possibly cancel on your plans randomly because she is a) an introvert and b) sick. However, in exchange for the inconvenience, she will randomly tell you about her passions, which include, but are not limited to: dinosaurs, history, disability justice, writing, and her favourite books.

That concludes today’s post! And I tag… Megan, and, uh, everyone else who hasn’t done this tag yet! Please tell me what your favourite food is? And what’s your favourite book? And what’s your favourite food from a book?

16 thoughts on “All About You Round The Blogosphere Tag

  1. I also find that I get a lot of inspiration for novels from nonfiction books – which strikes me as funny sometimes because you would think you’d get more inspiration for fiction books from other fiction books! I guess when I’m reading nonfiction, though, it’s easier for me to imagine my own original spin on an idea instead of pulling from someone else’s already-created fictional world.

    Also, we should talk disability justice sometime! One of my clients is the World Institute on Disabilities, and I’ve written some really interesting pieces for them on disability justice.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really want to go to Scotland! It’s such a beautiful place.

    I love Tolkien a lot. His books really got me into fantasy. The characters are so good, he’s really talented at building character relationships.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ah, Tolkien! He’s my favorite author, too! (I mean, I have many favorite authors, but I’m pretty sure he’s my Most Favorite author.) And LOTR is, of course, my favorite book.

    Scotland would be so fun to live in! Or even just visit–I would settle for visiting, if I had to. XD

    I’m an introvert as well. 🙂 And I love your warning label!! Mine would probably look similar…not quite the same, but similar.

    My favorite food is raspberries, closely followed by tomatoes, apricots, and nectarines! And my favorite food from a book is November Cakes from The Scorpio Races.

    (I apologize if I accidentally commented twice…Wordpress was being weird.)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Such a fun post!
    I can eat basically everything too, but I’ll always be a sucker for instant noodles, lol.
    My favorite book (at the moment) is The Blue Castle, by L.M. Montgomery. And I would give aaanythiiing to visit Bilbo’s house, and raid his larder like the Dwarves. ;p

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Yes! I feel exactly the same way about getting inspiration from nonfiction. My brain just goes crazy with it, I don’t really get much inspiration from other people’s novels.
    Yes, we definitely should! I’m down to talk about disability justice any day. Oh, that’s super interesting! I imagine they’d be fascinating to write.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love Scotland so much, definitely need to go on a trip as soon as overseas travel is allowed again!
    Yes, 100% agree on Tolkien. His worldbuilding and character relationships are better than pretty much any other story I’ve ever read.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Tolkien is definitely up there on my list of “most favourite” authors. He’s an amazing artist!
    ooh, raspberries are so good! Though as far as berries go, they’re actually pretty far down my list of favourites. I think blackberries top that particular list.
    The November cakes in Scorpio Races sounded so good! I would love to taste them!

    Like

  8. instant noodles are so good!
    I think I started that book years ago, but never finished it. It looks really good, and I love her other books so I should definitely pick it up again one day!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment